Background

Average Reviews

122 Reviews


Reviews

  • Best Indian in York

    I’ve eaten from here for 35 years.The food is delicious I have never had reason
    placed by Valerie on the 22nd March 2022
  • Best service in york

    Amazing food and friendly service even though there was a mixup with with house numbersplaced by George on the 14th January 2022
  • The best food takeaway in York

    One of the awesome takeaway food in York with a huge variety of different options.
    placed by charls on the 21st November 2018
  • Great food

    Food as always was excellent, it took 1 hour 40 minutes to arrive!placed by Sue on the 1st July 2017
  • Excellent food

    Food was delivered on time and was really good.placed by Sue on the 12th April 2017
  • Great food, always different!

    A brilliant takeaway with a huge variety of different options to most other places.placed by James on the 28th August 2016
  • Great food! Delivery could be faster!

    The food was great! Although the tikka masala was slightly sweeter and more coconuty than
    placed by Isabel on the 6th June 2016
  • Great curry

    Prompt delivery and tasty curry. Definitely the best this side of York.placed by Daniel on the 6th May 2016
  • 15 minutes late

    The meal itself was great, it's just the extra wait (for collection) that wasn't whatplaced by Patrick on the 3rd April 2016
  • Delicious!

    Ordered online then went to collect. I was a bit early but they were ready
    placed by Simon on the 3rd April 2016
  • Stone Cold and very late

    Took over 1 hour to deliver from less than a mile away. Arrived stone cold.
    placed by Simon on the 18th February 2016
  • Great food but luke warm on delivery

    Best tasting curry I've had from a takeaway but sadly the delivery was late and
    placed by Richard on the 15th February 2016
  • I will certainly use you again!

    Prompt and friendly service and the food was delicious!placed by Nicola on the 11th November 2015
  • Brilliant

    Unfortunately our rice was not delivered but Shahi made every effort to sort it out
    placed by Andrew on the 7th November 2015
  • Best in York

    Food was awesome as always!placed by Jon on the 1st November 2015
  • Delicious and Quick

    Title says it all, delivery was right on time and the food was excellent andplaced by Andrew on the 20th October 2015
  • Super tasty tandoori

    The Shahi produce THE best tandoori dishes with lots of subtle spicing, they always deliver
    placed by Frannie on the 17th October 2015
  • Superb

    I would challenge any Indian in York to serve up a better Lamb Dhansak. Reallyplaced by Dave on the 27th September 2015
  • Fab

    great food yet again, been using this place for years.placed by Steve on the 14th August 2015
  • Tastiest Tandoori Ever

    People from Yorkshire, always associate excellent curries with Bradford. Here in York we have a
    placed by Frannie on the 11th July 2015
  • spot on

    Food was really good as always. Be aware that delivery is a bit slow onplaced by andy on the 11th May 2015
  • Very good food and service

    Excellent food delivered on time and friendly and polite deliverymanplaced by Christine on the 3rd May 2015
  • great indian

    Best I have had in years and really friendly delivery man:)placed by john on the 28th April 2015
  • Best Indian takeaway in town

    We love this place more than any sit down Indian restaurant in town. The owner
    placed by Senna on the 28th April 2015
  • Great again

    Always top food, oldest and best in yorkplaced by Steve on the 27th April 2015
  • fantastic

    Always a pleasure going to sha hi,excellent service,and lovely food,keep up the good work,nExcellent A++placed by Paul on the 13th April 2015
  • Great little local indian takeaway

    The food here is always excellent and the friendly staff go out of their wayplaced by PAUL on the 2nd March 2015
  • Excellent curry!

    2 starters and 2 main courses, and poppadoms and rice only came to £23. The
    placed by Claire on the 2nd February 2015
  • Great !

    Reall good food at a fair priceplaced by thpmas on the 25th January 2015
  • Nomnomnom

    V yummy, thank you xplaced by Sarah on the 17th January 2015
  • Excellent food!

    Great tasting food - recommended to everyone!placed by Natasha on the 8th January 2015
  • Great little takeaway

    Excellent food and nice friendly guys, recommended.placed by P on the 31st December 2014
  • Best Indian in York!

    Really fast delivery service and excellent food, full of flavour and not overpoweringly spicy.placed by Helen on the 25th October 2014
  • Good Curry Everytime

    We really love our treat from Shahi. The meal never disappoints.placed by Deborah on the 15th October 2014
  • Super Shahi

    As always, our food was delicious. Can't wait until we place another order!placed by Jeremy on the 10th August 2014
  • excellent!

    Delicious food at a reasonable. Only qualm is the sometimes slow delivery.placed by adam on the 3rd July 2014
  • Great take away

    Easy to order, loads of choice, great value for money and very friendly delivery guyplaced by Janet on the 26th April 2014
  • The best Indian for miles

    Amanda Wright, 38 year old curry enthusiast!placed by Amanda on the 13th April 2014
  • Great food, really slow delivery

    Great food as always. nnDelivery took 1hr 40mins which we thought was unacceptable. I rangplaced by Matthew on the 6th April 2014
  • Usual high standard

    As usual the friendly greeting,followed by great service and then the excellent foodplaced by Paul on the 23rd March 2014
  • Nice curry

    Curry was the nice and couldn't be faulted (although a little cold). delivery was lateplaced by Mick on the 25th December 2013
  • Tops for value

    Ordered a takeaway and arrived on time. Food was good value and i had noplaced by Mick on the 15th December 2013
  • Perfect

    The food was absolutely delicious and was delivered in a timely manner.placed by Sonja on the 8th December 2013
  • Cold late food

    Came 2 hours after it was ordered and was cold. Not impressed any moreplaced by Hollie on the 10th November 2013
  • As good as always

    Food was excellent and was delivered right on time.placed by Christine on the 23rd September 2013
  • Shahi Nunnery Lane

    A great Friday night treat!placed by Richard on the 22nd June 2013
  • Another great curry

    Great food and delivery as always even though he forgot my popadoms!placed by Steve on the 27th May 2013
  • 2nd time - happy

    1st time we ordered was on valentine's day (i know, we're insufferable romantics...) and they
    placed by John on the 22nd May 2013
  • shahi

    good value,good service,good foodplaced by Paul on the 29th April 2013
  • very good

    Very good service and food, not to mention value. Cant complain about anything.placed by Richard on the 1st April 2013
  • Lovely

    Delivered in the time whey specified. Came with a free poppadom and dips too! Mixed
    placed by Rachael on the 25th February 2013
  • Not as Good

    chicken - katta mossala not as nice as previous other curries from hereplaced by Alex on the 21st February 2013
  • Very Tasty!

    rajastani karahi chicken was perfect!!bombay aloo - was Tastypilau rice - Also really DeliciousOther bitsplaced by Alex on the 21st February 2013
  • Cold and late

    The food was a little later than expected which is fine as it was a
    placed by Emma on the 27th January 2013
  • Excellent.....

    The food was excellent,as it always has been when ever we have had a takeplaced by Paul on the 30th December 2012
  • Midweek feast for 1

    Mixed kebab, Lamb Madras, Egg rice and Tarka Dall. Huge amounts of tasty food, goodplaced by Alex on the 15th November 2012
  • Great food, low prices

    This is quickly becoming our regular takeaway, delivering good quality food every time without hurtingplaced by Isaac on the 9th November 2012
  • A Good Balance of

    Flavours in each curry and each having a distinct taste. Meats were all tender, withplaced by Alex on the 21st October 2012
  • Excellent service excellent food

    Really delicious curry, very fast and efficient service, thank you very muchplaced by Celia on the 13th October 2012
  • Good food

    The Shahi is our favorite take away restaurant. The food was very good and has
    placed by Mike on the 16th September 2012
  • Excellent

    Food for 6 people was delivered within 5 minutes of stated time and weplaced by Christine on the 16th August 2012
  • good

    Goodplaced by Tom on the 29th July 2012
  • great food

    great food and serviceplaced by Steve on the 16th July 2012
  • Keep up the good work

    As per usual the food was excellentplaced by Paul on the 28th May 2012
  • Very tasty thanks

    Always go here. Top Takeaway. Recommendedplaced by Tom on the 21st May 2012
  • nom nom nom

    food was fantastic, would recommend!placed by michael on the 14th May 2012
  • Worth the wait - but watch out for over charging

    Lovely mealplaced by Hollie on the 12th May 2012
  • Always a winner!

    Back in York after 4 months Down Under, my husband and I had cravings for
    placed by Marde on the 11th May 2012
  • Order was not complete and so salty

    Had Shahi for years always a high standard but last nights was so dissapointing. Oder
    placed by stuart on the 6th May 2012
  • Extremely Disappointed

    we ordered from this company as we read reviews that made it out to be
    placed by Emma on the 28th April 2012
  • Tasty, Fresh and Fast

    The delivery was exactly on time after I did a pre-order. The food arrived piping
    placed by Thomas on the 15th April 2012
  • Massive Price Rise

    Great food and service but the prices have increased by 20%placed by Steve on the 11th April 2012
  • Fantastic food

    As per usual a fantastic meal, delivered as promised within 45 minutes and hot. Triedplaced by Emma on the 21st March 2012
  • Delicious as always!

    If you can place the order for collection, you can't beat how prompt this placeplaced by Erica on the 27th February 2012
  • never fails

    awesome once again - best curry in yorkplaced by Steve on the 26th February 2012
  • Superb as usual

    What can I say, Fantastic service and food as usual,looking forward to our next oneplaced by Emma on the 10th February 2012
  • Usually good, this time not so :(

    Arrived after an hourplaced by Hollie on the 10th February 2012
  • All Good

    All good as usual, thanks againplaced by Tom on the 4th February 2012
  • Bang on time!

    Great food delivered with a smile on time too - yet again!placed by Steve on the 31st January 2012
  • very good

    very goodplaced by lisa on the 29th January 2012
  • So much food for the money!

    I love that Shahi gives free popadoms with every meal. They initially forgot my garlic
    placed by Erica on the 25th December 2011
  • Changed price on delivery!!

    Although the food was great, I'm a bit miffed of the fact I ordered the
    placed by Hollie on the 17th December 2011
  • Usually excellent but not this time

    Normally the service here is excellent but on this occasion I was let down a
    placed by Tom on the 9th November 2011
  • thumbs up

    excellent as always when we get a take away from the Shahiplaced by Paul on the 24th October 2011
  • same again

    same again - greatplaced by Steve on the 10th October 2011
  • just what i needed!

    After a miserable week of being full of cold this curry was just what theplaced by hilary on the 8th October 2011
  • and another great meal

    seriously goodplaced by Steve on the 3rd October 2011
  • Fast. Hot. Tasty

    Very good service again. Fast delivery. Hot food. Very tasty. Best in Yorkplaced by Tom on the 27th September 2011
  • Great Value for money

    I tried something new this time, sauce a little thinker than Ive had at previousplaced by Emma on the 27th September 2011
  • very fast, very tasty, very good!

    Ordered online at about 6pm, food arrived within half an hour. Meal was very tasty.placed by Tom on the 21st September 2011
  • Great food

    Great food,Great Value for Money and generous portions, would recommend to everyone.placed by Emma on the 21st September 2011
  • Another great take out

    top food delivered on time at great valueplaced by Steve on the 12th September 2011
  • first time is okay

    We ordered from Shahi following a recommendation. The food was generally okay - the sheeshplaced by Mebs on the 9th September 2011
  • Shahi

    Cant fault it,ordered the take away online at 6 and it was ready for theplaced by Paul on the 15th August 2011
  • Nicest curry takeaway we've had in York

    Good food, good value, quick delivery - thumbs upplaced by Steve on the 12th August 2011
  • good taste, value for money

    good taste, value for moneyplaced by Raj on the 6th August 2011
  • another great takeaway

    consistent quality at a reasonable price with excellent delivery service with a smileplaced by Steve on the 23rd July 2011
  • Great as always

    quality food delivered with a smileplaced by Steve on the 27th June 2011
  • Usual high standards

    Excellent,as it always is when ever we get a take away from the Sha Hiplaced by Paul on the 27th May 2011
  • Another amazing meal!

    awesome food, friendly deliveryplaced by Steve on the 22nd May 2011
  • shahi tandoori

    great food very tasty but nearlt 90 mins for deliveryplaced by james on the 17th April 2011
  • Excellent food

    The food was very tasty and offered great value for money. Delivery was prompt andplaced by Aliasger on the 15th April 2011
  • Great standard

    Quality hot food delivered on timeplaced by Peter on the 23rd March 2011
  • As usual great food and excellent delivery

    - courteous and on timeplaced by Steve on the 19th March 2011
  • Great

    good food, on timeplaced by Kara on the 12th March 2011
  • Food a bit cold

    The food quality was good but it was somewhat cold when it was delivered. Pleasedplaced by Aliasger on the 21st February 2011
  • Deliciousness

    Very tasty and great value - a reliable spot to get a good curry inplaced by Bradshaw on the 6th February 2011
  • Great food

    As usual great tasty food delivered on time and still hotplaced by Peter on the 20th January 2011
  • Sha Hi

    we get a take-away from the sha hi on numerous ocassions and we have neverplaced by Paul on the 28th December 2010
  • Regular Customers

    The food is yummy as usual, and delivered earlier than expected. Portions were a littleplaced by Katie on the 20th December 2010
  • Let down

    It all seemed to go wrong last night. They forgot to include part of our
    placed by Linda on the 12th December 2010
  • Good food

    Excellent food again delivered on time and still hotplaced by Peter on the 10th December 2010
  • great first time

    Very good, delivered on time and still hot, prices are good too!placed by Peter on the 23rd November 2010
  • great food as always

    regular customers of the shahi tandoori. food is always nice. delivery can often be laterplaced by Katie on the 23rd November 2010
  • First and Last order

    The food was good, and decent value for money, however the order arrived three hours
    placed by Abigail on the 31st October 2010
  • Food not hot

    Delivery slightly late but main problem was the heat of the food. The main dishes
    placed by Richard on the 24th October 2010
  • Great food but late delivery

    The food was fabulous but the delivery was unfortunately lateplaced by Dan on the 8th August 2010
  • Yum

    Great food, very yummy but was worth getting raita for. Delivered within ETA and definatelyplaced by Katie on the 26th April 2010
  • Miss

    placed by Yasmin on the 21st February 2010
  • Good First Go

    Easy to use and logical website, good value and only a few minutes later thanplaced by Edward on the 13th February 2010
  • delicious takeaways!!

    I just love the takeaways from this place but had a few problems in the
    placed by Maj on the 27th January 2010
  • Nice curry

    Nice curry at very reasonable prices. Delivery took slightly longer than advertised, but will definitelyplaced by Chris on the 3rd September 2009