Background

Average Reviews

121 Reviews


Reviews

  • Best service in york

    Amazing food and friendly service even though there was a mixup with with house numbers on my part placed by George on the 14th January 2022
  • The best food takeaway in York

    One of the awesome takeaway food in York with a huge variety of different options. I ordered lamb briyani on 20 Nov 2018, which was fantastic and delivered right on time with perfection, the lamb briyani was super tasty and service was par excellent, thanks, with regards, lawrenceplaced by charls on the 21st November 2018
  • Great food

    Food as always was excellent, it took 1 hour 40 minutes to arrive!placed by Sue on the 1st July 2017
  • Excellent food

    Food was delivered on time and was really good.placed by Sue on the 12th April 2017
  • Great food, always different!

    A brilliant takeaway with a huge variety of different options to most other places.placed by James on the 28th August 2016
  • Great food! Delivery could be faster!

    The food was great! Although the tikka masala was slightly sweeter and more coconuty than expected. It also wasn't as creamy and tomato-ey as I would expect from a tikka masala. Lamb bhuna was great in flavour, mild and aromatic. The murghi cham Cham was great, nice and medium hot, and very tomato-ey. Overall great food! They did deliver within the stipulated time given, but it could have been faster, especially since it was early in the evening.placed by Isabel on the 6th June 2016
  • Great curry

    Prompt delivery and tasty curry. Definitely the best this side of York.placed by Daniel on the 6th May 2016
  • 15 minutes late

    The meal itself was great, it's just the extra wait (for collection) that wasn't what I expected. Maybe take that into account at busy time (this was Saturday evening).placed by Patrick on the 3rd April 2016
  • Delicious!

    Ordered online then went to collect. I was a bit early but they were ready on time. Very friendly man served me and the food was delicious! I must recommend collection against delivery, as delivery can be very slow and food cold.placed by Simon on the 3rd April 2016
  • Stone Cold and very late

    Took over 1 hour to deliver from less than a mile away. Arrived stone cold. This is unusual for the Shahi. Usually prompt service and very tasty. This bad experience has not put me off ordering from them in the future though.placed by Simon on the 18th February 2016
  • Great food but luke warm on delivery

    Best tasting curry I've had from a takeaway but sadly the delivery was late and the food only luke warm. Mitigation was that it was Valentine's Day so they will have been extremely busy.placed by Richard on the 15th February 2016
  • I will certainly use you again!

    Prompt and friendly service and the food was delicious!placed by Nicola on the 11th November 2015
  • Brilliant

    Unfortunately our rice was not delivered but Shahi made every effort to sort it out and were extremely apologetic. The rice was re-delivered extremely quickly. The food tasted great as always, superb service.placed by Andrew on the 7th November 2015
  • Best in York

    Food was awesome as always!placed by Jon on the 1st November 2015
  • Delicious and Quick

    Title says it all, delivery was right on time and the food was excellent and hot.placed by Andrew on the 20th October 2015
  • Super tasty tandoori

    The Shahi produce THE best tandoori dishes with lots of subtle spicing, they always deliver on time & there's often a free pickles & popadoms included. Highly recommended for a great curry delivered to your door.placed by Frannie on the 17th October 2015
  • Superb

    I would challenge any Indian in York to serve up a better Lamb Dhansak. Really enjoyable.placed by Dave on the 27th September 2015
  • Fab

    great food yet again, been using this place for years.placed by Steve on the 14th August 2015
  • Tastiest Tandoori Ever

    People from Yorkshire, always associate excellent curries with Bradford. Here in York we have a tandoori treasure to rival even Bradfords reputation! When Shahi say they specialise in tandoori they are not messing about...they really do! Their king prawn tandoori is a divine taste sensation with giant split prawns (the tails are left on so watch for that) chargrilled in a delicious tomato based medium curry sauce. The tandoori chicken is tender, rich and equally superb. Remember to ask for it to be taken off the bone, unless you like it that way. Sundries, like rice, naan etc are all equally good and you often get an excellent selection of pickles, popadoms and salad completely free of charge! If you order online they often deliver ahead of time and ordering in their shop on Nunnery Lane is easy, friendly, well maintained and pleasant. Cannot recommend these lovely tandoori chefs highly enough. For us it's become a regular Friday tandoori treat!placed by Frannie on the 11th July 2015
  • spot on

    Food was really good as always. Be aware that delivery is a bit slow on a weekend, so just order early and enjoy!placed by andy on the 11th May 2015
  • Very good food and service

    Excellent food delivered on time and friendly and polite deliverymanplaced by Christine on the 3rd May 2015
  • great indian

    Best I have had in years and really friendly delivery man:)placed by john on the 28th April 2015
  • Best Indian takeaway in town

    We love this place more than any sit down Indian restaurant in town. The owner is so friendly, the food is inexpensive and will knock your socks off. Haven't had a single bad dish...or even a mediocre one.placed by Senna on the 28th April 2015
  • Great again

    Always top food, oldest and best in yorkplaced by Steve on the 27th April 2015
  • fantastic

    Always a pleasure going to sha hi,excellent service,and lovely food,keep up the good work,nExcellent A++placed by Paul on the 13th April 2015
  • Great little local indian takeaway

    The food here is always excellent and the friendly staff go out of their way to make their customers happy ;-)placed by PAUL on the 2nd March 2015
  • Excellent curry!

    2 starters and 2 main courses, and poppadoms and rice only came to £23. The starters were good, sheek kebab and king prawn puri, then the main courses were absolutely delicious: ayr kharahi and chicken dhansak. I will definitely be ordering from here again, soon!placed by Claire on the 2nd February 2015
  • Great !

    Reall good food at a fair priceplaced by thpmas on the 25th January 2015
  • Nomnomnom

    V yummy, thank you xplaced by Sarah on the 17th January 2015
  • Excellent food!

    Great tasting food - recommended to everyone!placed by Natasha on the 8th January 2015
  • Great little takeaway

    Excellent food and nice friendly guys, recommended.placed by P on the 31st December 2014
  • Best Indian in York!

    Really fast delivery service and excellent food, full of flavour and not overpoweringly spicy. Not cheap but well worth it, thank you!placed by Helen on the 25th October 2014
  • Good Curry Everytime

    We really love our treat from Shahi. The meal never disappoints.placed by Deborah on the 15th October 2014
  • Super Shahi

    As always, our food was delicious. Can't wait until we place another order!placed by Jeremy on the 10th August 2014
  • excellent!

    Delicious food at a reasonable. Only qualm is the sometimes slow delivery.placed by adam on the 3rd July 2014
  • Great take away

    Easy to order, loads of choice, great value for money and very friendly delivery guy ! would recommend it any day !placed by Janet on the 26th April 2014
  • The best Indian for miles

    Amanda Wright, 38 year old curry enthusiast!placed by Amanda on the 13th April 2014
  • Great food, really slow delivery

    Great food as always. nnDelivery took 1hr 40mins which we thought was unacceptable. I rang up after 90 mins but it was just 'on its way'.placed by Matthew on the 6th April 2014
  • Usual high standard

    As usual the friendly greeting,followed by great service and then the excellent foodplaced by Paul on the 23rd March 2014
  • Nice curry

    Curry was the nice and couldn't be faulted (although a little cold). delivery was late but it was Christmas eve so can't really complain.placed by Mick on the 25th December 2013
  • Tops for value

    Ordered a takeaway and arrived on time. Food was good value and i had no complaints.placed by Mick on the 15th December 2013
  • Perfect

    The food was absolutely delicious and was delivered in a timely manner.placed by Sonja on the 8th December 2013
  • Cold late food

    Came 2 hours after it was ordered and was cold. Not impressed any moreplaced by Hollie on the 10th November 2013
  • As good as always

    Food was excellent and was delivered right on time.placed by Christine on the 23rd September 2013
  • Shahi Nunnery Lane

    A great Friday night treat!placed by Richard on the 22nd June 2013
  • Another great curry

    Great food and delivery as always even though he forgot my popadoms!placed by Steve on the 27th May 2013
  • 2nd time - happy

    1st time we ordered was on valentine's day (i know, we're insufferable romantics...) and they were clearly slammed with orders, and our meal was very late - though the quality was good… This time, quality excellent, timing early, and absolutely no complaints… in fact, Recommend!placed by John on the 22nd May 2013
  • shahi

    good value,good service,good foodplaced by Paul on the 29th April 2013
  • very good

    Very good service and food, not to mention value. Cant complain about anything.placed by Richard on the 1st April 2013
  • Lovely

    Delivered in the time whey specified. Came with a free poppadom and dips too! Mixed kebab starter was amazing and the curry I ordered was lovely too. The naan was massive and tasted awesome. My only niggle was the delivery driver wasn't particularly friendly, but the food was lovely :-)placed by Rachael on the 25th February 2013
  • Not as Good

    chicken - katta mossala not as nice as previous other curries from hereplaced by Alex on the 21st February 2013
  • Very Tasty!

    rajastani karahi chicken was perfect!!bombay aloo - was Tastypilau rice - Also really DeliciousOther bits lke papadoms and pickles goodplaced by Alex on the 21st February 2013
  • Cold and late

    The food was a little later than expected which is fine as it was a busy Saturday night. However when it arrived it was cold which was disappointing and there was no salad with the starters.placed by Emma on the 27th January 2013
  • Excellent.....

    The food was excellent,as it always has been when ever we have had a take away from the Shahi,and as usual a really friendly welcome,placed by Paul on the 30th December 2012
  • Midweek feast for 1

    Mixed kebab, Lamb Madras, Egg rice and Tarka Dall. Huge amounts of tasty food, good salads, dips and a few poppadoms. Great feed, enough for left overs tea tonight.placed by Alex on the 15th November 2012
  • Great food, low prices

    This is quickly becoming our regular takeaway, delivering good quality food every time without hurting our budget.placed by Isaac on the 9th November 2012
  • A Good Balance of

    Flavours in each curry and each having a distinct taste. Meats were all tender, with the rice and naan moist. Very fresh and tasty.placed by Alex on the 21st October 2012
  • Excellent service excellent food

    Really delicious curry, very fast and efficient service, thank you very muchplaced by Celia on the 13th October 2012
  • Good food

    The Shahi is our favorite take away restaurant. The food was very good and has excellent flavours. Being a Saturday night the order was delivered a little later than curries online suggested which meant that the food was not as hot as normal.placed by Mike on the 16th September 2012
  • Excellent

    Food for 6 people was delivered within 5 minutes of stated time and we all enjoyed the meal.placed by Christine on the 16th August 2012
  • good

    Goodplaced by Tom on the 29th July 2012
  • great food

    great food and serviceplaced by Steve on the 16th July 2012
  • Keep up the good work

    As per usual the food was excellentplaced by Paul on the 28th May 2012
  • Very tasty thanks

    Always go here. Top Takeaway. Recommendedplaced by Tom on the 21st May 2012
  • nom nom nom

    food was fantastic, would recommend!placed by michael on the 14th May 2012
  • Worth the wait - but watch out for over charging

    Lovely mealplaced by Hollie on the 12th May 2012
  • Always a winner!

    Back in York after 4 months Down Under, my husband and I had cravings for our old friend, curry. Soooo glad we ordered from Shahi. The meal did not disappoint. It was so tasty tasty tasty - the only downside is that the food is far too tempting!! (We always have intentions of refrigerating some for the next day - but our stomachs get the better of us!). We picked up the meal, and the staff were so friendly. We always end up leaving the store smiling.My husband commented that it's the best curry he's had in a looooooong time (he's a curry expert, and the ones in Australia and at other York restaurants just don't compare). Am sure Shahi will become a weekly (finances permitting) custom from now on!!!placed by Marde on the 11th May 2012
  • Order was not complete and so salty

    Had Shahi for years always a high standard but last nights was so dissapointing. Oder was missing one main course and both were far to salty and most was thrown away. Hope this was just a one off.placed by stuart on the 6th May 2012
  • Extremely Disappointed

    we ordered from this company as we read reviews that made it out to be one of the best. however we could not have been more disappointed. we were told it would take 45 minutes for delivery but in actual fact took 1 hour and 30 minutes. the delivery man was very apologetic but apparently according to him it is very common as the kitchen cannot cope with the amount of service required from them. not only was the food this late it was very cold and no a good value for the money at all. i would not reccommend this takeaway to anyone.placed by Emma on the 28th April 2012
  • Tasty, Fresh and Fast

    The delivery was exactly on time after I did a pre-order. The food arrived piping hot even though I live the furthest away from their shop. Definitely recommend, really tasty food.placed by Thomas on the 15th April 2012
  • Massive Price Rise

    Great food and service but the prices have increased by 20%placed by Steve on the 11th April 2012
  • Fantastic food

    As per usual a fantastic meal, delivered as promised within 45 minutes and hot. Tried something diferent and it was extremely tasty. well done Shahi.placed by Emma on the 21st March 2012
  • Delicious as always!

    If you can place the order for collection, you can't beat how prompt this place is!placed by Erica on the 27th February 2012
  • never fails

    awesome once again - best curry in yorkplaced by Steve on the 26th February 2012
  • Superb as usual

    What can I say, Fantastic service and food as usual,looking forward to our next oneplaced by Emma on the 10th February 2012
  • Usually good, this time not so :(

    Arrived after an hourplaced by Hollie on the 10th February 2012
  • All Good

    All good as usual, thanks againplaced by Tom on the 4th February 2012
  • Bang on time!

    Great food delivered with a smile on time too - yet again!placed by Steve on the 31st January 2012
  • very good

    very goodplaced by lisa on the 29th January 2012
  • So much food for the money!

    I love that Shahi gives free popadoms with every meal. They initially forgot my garlic naan bread, but sent it over once I called with some additional sauces and were very apologetic. The food was delicious!placed by Erica on the 25th December 2011
  • Changed price on delivery!!

    Although the food was great, I'm a bit miffed of the fact I ordered the food for £13.95, even got the email to prove it but the delivery driver charged us £14.99! I know it's only just over a pound but it's cheeky to change the price after you have ordered it. My boyfriend answered the doorplaced by Hollie on the 17th December 2011
  • Usually excellent but not this time

    Normally the service here is excellent but on this occasion I was let down a bit. However it was a friday night. The order took nearly two hours to arrive and the food was cold. I will order here again but one more of these and I'll go somewhere else.placed by Tom on the 9th November 2011
  • thumbs up

    excellent as always when we get a take away from the Shahiplaced by Paul on the 24th October 2011
  • same again

    same again - greatplaced by Steve on the 10th October 2011
  • just what i needed!

    After a miserable week of being full of cold this curry was just what the doctor ordered. It was delicious.placed by hilary on the 8th October 2011
  • and another great meal

    seriously goodplaced by Steve on the 3rd October 2011
  • Fast. Hot. Tasty

    Very good service again. Fast delivery. Hot food. Very tasty. Best in Yorkplaced by Tom on the 27th September 2011
  • Great Value for money

    I tried something new this time, sauce a little thinker than Ive had at previous places, but taste was great and service excellant as usual,will definately be placing more orders.placed by Emma on the 27th September 2011
  • very fast, very tasty, very good!

    Ordered online at about 6pm, food arrived within half an hour. Meal was very tasty. I was very happy with the service.placed by Tom on the 21st September 2011
  • Great food

    Great food,Great Value for Money and generous portions, would recommend to everyone.placed by Emma on the 21st September 2011
  • Another great take out

    top food delivered on time at great valueplaced by Steve on the 12th September 2011
  • first time is okay

    We ordered from Shahi following a recommendation. The food was generally okay - the sheesh kebab was bland and not as grilled as I am used to.placed by Mebs on the 9th September 2011
  • Shahi

    Cant fault it,ordered the take away online at 6 and it was ready for the time i requested,which was 6.30,placed by Paul on the 15th August 2011
  • Nicest curry takeaway we've had in York

    Good food, good value, quick delivery - thumbs upplaced by Steve on the 12th August 2011
  • good taste, value for money

    good taste, value for moneyplaced by Raj on the 6th August 2011
  • another great takeaway

    consistent quality at a reasonable price with excellent delivery service with a smileplaced by Steve on the 23rd July 2011
  • Great as always

    quality food delivered with a smileplaced by Steve on the 27th June 2011
  • Usual high standards

    Excellent,as it always is when ever we get a take away from the Sha Hiplaced by Paul on the 27th May 2011
  • Another amazing meal!

    awesome food, friendly deliveryplaced by Steve on the 22nd May 2011
  • shahi tandoori

    great food very tasty but nearlt 90 mins for deliveryplaced by james on the 17th April 2011
  • Excellent food

    The food was very tasty and offered great value for money. Delivery was prompt and food was hot on delivery.placed by Aliasger on the 15th April 2011
  • Great standard

    Quality hot food delivered on timeplaced by Peter on the 23rd March 2011
  • As usual great food and excellent delivery

    - courteous and on timeplaced by Steve on the 19th March 2011
  • Great

    good food, on timeplaced by Kara on the 12th March 2011
  • Food a bit cold

    The food quality was good but it was somewhat cold when it was delivered. Pleased with the complimentary poppadums and chutney.placed by Aliasger on the 21st February 2011
  • Deliciousness

    Very tasty and great value - a reliable spot to get a good curry in my opinion - outshines many others.placed by Bradshaw on the 6th February 2011
  • Great food

    As usual great tasty food delivered on time and still hotplaced by Peter on the 20th January 2011
  • Sha Hi

    we get a take-away from the sha hi on numerous ocassions and we have never been dissapionted yet, highly recommendedplaced by Paul on the 28th December 2010
  • Regular Customers

    The food is yummy as usual, and delivered earlier than expected. Portions were a little smaller than in the past, but still good value for money.placed by Katie on the 20th December 2010
  • Let down

    It all seemed to go wrong last night. They forgot to include part of our meal and the food was not up to its usual standard. Customer service was good though, as soon as we reported part of the meal missing they apologised profusely and brought the dish very quickly - so the experience will hopefully not put us off going there again.placed by Linda on the 12th December 2010
  • Good food

    Excellent food again delivered on time and still hotplaced by Peter on the 10th December 2010
  • great first time

    Very good, delivered on time and still hot, prices are good too!placed by Peter on the 23rd November 2010
  • great food as always

    regular customers of the shahi tandoori. food is always nice. delivery can often be later than said time but the wait is worth it.placed by Katie on the 23rd November 2010
  • First and Last order

    The food was good, and decent value for money, however the order arrived three hours late, and lukewarm. Phoning to chivvy the order was also a challenge as background noise and a thick accent made communication difficult. Even though the food was 3 hours late, no discount or apology was made. I will not be using this takeaway in the future.placed by Abigail on the 31st October 2010
  • Food not hot

    Delivery slightly late but main problem was the heat of the food. The main dishes were warm but not hot. The naan was stone cold. Had to reheat the food and it then tasted excellent.placed by Richard on the 24th October 2010
  • Great food but late delivery

    The food was fabulous but the delivery was unfortunately lateplaced by Dan on the 8th August 2010
  • Yum

    Great food, very yummy but was worth getting raita for. Delivered within ETA and definately value for money.placed by Katie on the 26th April 2010
  • Miss

    placed by Yasmin on the 21st February 2010
  • Good First Go

    Easy to use and logical website, good value and only a few minutes later than advertised. Food was good too - fresh and still very hot!placed by Edward on the 13th February 2010
  • delicious takeaways!!

    I just love the takeaways from this place but had a few problems in the past with the communication as the guy on the phone didn't speak english very well. Now they offer online ordering it seems to have solved my problem...great jobplaced by Maj on the 27th January 2010
  • Nice curry

    Nice curry at very reasonable prices. Delivery took slightly longer than advertised, but will definitely use again.placed by Chris on the 3rd September 2009